Saturday 10 September 2022 7:30PM

Schubert Octet

Michael Collins clarinet; Amy Harman bassoon; Ben Goldscheider horn; Ning Feng violin; Benjamin Baker violin; Timothy Ridout viola; Maciej Kułakowski cello; Edicson Ruiz double bass


This concert is a repeat of the 1:00PM performance.


Approximately 1 hour in duration, without an interval.


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Michael Collins clarinet
  • Amy Harman bassoon
  • Ben Goldscheider horn
  • Ning Feng violin
  • Benjamin Baker violin
  • Timothy Ridout viola
  • Maciej Kułakowski cello
  • Edicson Ruiz double bass

In penning his Octet, Franz Schubert – one of the most companionable of composers – created a work that has been enjoyed by innumerable players and audience members ever since its first performance at the home of Beethoven’s pupil and patron Archduke Rudolf in 1824. The original commission from clarinettist Ferdinand Troyer requested something similar to Beethoven’s popular Septet: Schubert went one better and added a second violin.

  • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
      • Octet in F D803

We also recommend