Saturday 9 February 2019 7:30PM

Michael Collins clarinet; Michael McHale piano

Reinecke, Stanford, Brahms and more


  • Michael Collins clarinet
  • Michael McHale piano

Charles Villiers Stanford was a pupil of both Carl Reinecke and Johannes Brahms, like them producing major works for an instrument whose repertoire was also enhanced by several 20th-century French composers. Their music is accompanied by a European première from American composer, Abbie Betinis.

Live Stream

This event is part of the Live Stream concert series from Wigmore Hall and will be shown on our website at the time of the concert. Visit the Live Stream page

  • Carl Reinecke (1824-1910)
        • Introduzione ed allegro appassionato Op. 256
  • Charles Villiers Stanford (1852-1924)
        • Clarinet Sonata Op. 129
  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
        • Clarinet Sonata in F minor Op. 120 No. 1
  • Interval
  • Claude Debussy (1862-1918)
        • Première rapsodie
  • Abbie Betinis (b.1980)
        • Rhapsodos (European première)
  • César Franck (1822-1890)
        • Sonata in A (arr. for clarinet and piano)
  • Encore
  • John Field (1782-1837)
        • Nocturne No. 5 in B flat (arr. Michael McHale)

Related Series