Thursday 18 June 2020 1:00PM

Michael Collins clarinet; Michael McHale piano

Live on BBC Radio 3 and in HD video on this website


This concert forms part of the Wigmore Hall BBC Radio 3 Special Broadcast series. It will be available to listen to live on BBC Radio 3 and also to watch live on Wigmore Hall's website.
The concert will be approximately one hour in duration.


  • Michael Collins clarinet
  • Michael McHale piano

Watch here until 18 July

BBC Sounds

Michael Collins continues to have a distinguished career as a soloist and educator, as well as more recently becoming a highly regarded conductor. His programme with pianist Michael McHale ends with Poulenc’s expressive sonata of 1962.

  • Wigmore Hall's live stream of this concert is supported by Hamish Parker
  • Camille Saint-Saëns (1835-1921)
        • Clarinet Sonata in E flat Op. 167
  • Carl Maria von Weber (1786-1826)
        • Grand Duo Concertant in E flat Op. 48
  • Francis Poulenc (1899-1963)
        • Sonata for clarinet and piano
  • Encore
  • Trad/Irish
        • My lagan love (arr. Michael McHale)

We also recommend