Monday 17 May 2021 1:00PM

Michael Collins clarinet; Michael McHale piano

Bax, Joseph Horovitz, Muczynski and Widor


This concert was live-streamed as part of the Wigmore Hall Summer Series. The video is no longer online but other concerts are available to watch in full here: Wigmore Hall Concert Video Library


  • Michael Collins clarinet
  • Michael McHale piano

Following its ‘fabulously sleek and stylish performance’ (The Guardian) in the Hall’s June 2020 special lunchtime broadcast series, the duo returns for a programme including Horovitz’s Sonatina which premièred at Wigmore Hall in 1981. Widor is better known for his organ symphonies, and his Introduction et rondo was composed in 1898 while he held the position of Director of Organ Studies at the Paris Conservatoire. At its première in 1935, Bax’s clarinet sonata was actually played twice; it was repeated in the programme when the sheet music for a work by Lennox Berkeley was lost in the post! Each of the four Time Pieces by Muczynski highlights a characteristic of the clarinet in terms of range, technical prowess, tone colour, and expressiveness.

  • Charles-Marie Widor (1844-1937)
      • Introduction et rondo Op. 72
  • Arnold Bax (1883-1953)
      • Clarinet Sonata in D
  • Robert Muczynski (1929-2010)
      • Time Pieces Op. 43
  • Joseph Horovitz (b.1926)
      • Sonatina
  • Encore
  • Paul Reade
      • The Victorian Kitchen Suite
        • Summer

We also recommend