Wednesday 2 February 2022 7:30PM

Michael Collins clarinet; Michael McHale piano; Isabelle van Keulen violin; Laura Samuel violin; Philip Dukes viola; Kristina Blaumane cello

Michael Collins 60th Birthday


Download the PDF programme here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.


  • Michael Collins clarinet
  • Michael McHale piano
  • Isabelle van Keulen violin
  • Laura Samuel violin
  • Philip Dukes viola
  • Kristina Blaumane cello

A birthday celebration in which a group of leading musicians join the expert clarinettist for a programme of popular chamber works for his instrument, plus a new quintet for clarinet and strings in which Robin Holloway will emulate another master of the medium whose style he knows well.

  • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
      • Clarinet Sonata in F minor Op. 120 No. 1
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
      • Clarinet Quintet in A K581
  • Interval
  • Robin Holloway (b.1943)
      • Romanza and Scherzo (in the style of Brahms)
        • (world première) [1]
  • Johannes Brahms
      • Clarinet Quintet in B minor Op. 115
  1. Co-commissioned by Wigmore Hall

We also recommend