Friday 25 November 2022 7:30PM

Miklós Perényi cello; Imre Rohmann piano

Bach, Dohnányi, Dvořák, Mendelssohn and Schumann


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Miklós Perényi cello
  • Imre Rohmann piano

One of the world’s greatest exponents of the cello brings a programme that covers 150 years, from Bach’s gamba sonata dating from around 1740 to his fellow-Hungarian Ernst (or Ernö) von Dohnányi’s early sonata of 1899. As the winner of the Pablo Casals International Cello Competition in Budapest in 1963, Miklós Perényi was invited by his great predecessor to join his masterclasses over the next two years, laying the foundations for the career that has followed.

  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
      • Viola da Gamba Sonata No. 3 in G minor BWV1029
  • Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)
      • Cello Sonata No. 1 in B flat Op. 45
  • Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904)
      • Rondo in G minor Op. 94
  • Interval
  • Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
      • 5 Stücke im Volkston Op. 102
  • Ernő Dohnányi (1877-1960)
      • Cello Sonata in B flat minor Op. 8

We also recommend