Sunday 22 December 2019 11:30AM

Modigliani Quartet

Mozart, Tchaikovsky and Korngold


  • Modigliani Quartet

The Modigliani Quartet formed in Paris in 2003 from players who had met at the Conservatoire. Tonight’s programme focusses on the last of Tchaikovsky’s three quartets (1876), whose slow movement, marked Andante funebre e doloroso, was a memorial to the Czech Ferdinand Laub, whom the composer considered the finest violinist of his time.

  • Coffee for the Sunday Morning Concert Series is generously provided by Café de Colombia
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
        • Divertimento in F K138
  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)
        • String Quartet No. 3 in E flat minor Op. 30
  • Encore
  • Erich Wolfgang Korngold (1897-1957)
      • String Quartet No. 2 in E flat Op. 26
        • II. Intermezzo: Allegretto con moto

Related Series