Tuesday 5 January 2016 7:30PM

Heath Quartet; James Baillieu piano

Mozart and Elgar


  • Heath Quartet
  • Oliver Heath violin
  • Cerys Jones violin
  • Gary Pomeroy viola
  • Christopher Murray cello
  • James Baillieu piano

Mozart described the music of his Piano Concerto No. 12 in A K414, conceived for performance either with small orchestra or string quartet, as ‘very brilliant, pleasing to the ear, and natural’.

James Baillieu moves from concerto soloist to chamber music partner in the second half, joining the Heath Quartet in Elgar’s Piano Quintet, which received its first public performance at Wigmore Hall in May 1919.

  • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
        • Adagio and Fugue in C minor K546
        • Piano Concerto in A major K414
  • Interval
  • Edward Elgar (1857-1934)
        • Piano Quintet in A minor Op. 84

We also recommend