Tuesday 2 October 2018 7:30PM

Narek Hakhnazaryan cello; Pavel Kolesnikov piano

Tchaikovsky, Myaskovsky, Rachmaninov, Glazunov and Shostakovich

Booking information

  • Concessions are available. More information
  • £5 tickets are available to this concert for Under 35s. More Information
  • This concert is part of Chamber Zone, a free ticket scheme for young people aged 8-25 years old. Please call the Box Office on 020 7935 2141 and quote “Chamber Zone” to book.
  • Duration

    This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


    Ticket bookings are subject to a £3 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

    • Narek Hakhnazaryan cello
    • Pavel Kolesnikov piano

    Two major Russian sonatas form the soulful centrepieces of a programme that otherwise features smaller, lighter works by Tchaikovsky and Rachmaninov, the Mélodie (in Narek Hakhnazaryan’s own arrangement) recalling the former composer’s happiness on his patron Nadezhda von Meck’s Ukrainian estate.

    • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
    • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)
          • Nocturne in D minor
          • Pezzo capriccioso Op. 62
        • Souvenir d'un lieu cher Op. 42
          • Mélodie in E flat (arr. Hakhnazaryan)
    • Nikolay Myaskovsky
          • Cello Sonata No. 2 in A minor Op. 81
    • Interval
    • Sergey Rachmaninov (1873-1943)
        • Morceaux de fantaisie Op. 3
          • Elégie
    • Alexander Glazunov (1865-1936)
          • Chant du ménestrel Op. 71
    • Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)
          • Cello Sonata in D minor Op. 40

    We also recommend