Sunday 18 November 2012 11:30AM

Nash Ensemble

Grainger, Bridge and Mendelssohn


  • Nash Ensemble
  • Marianne Thorsen violin
  • Philip Dukes viola
  • Paul Watkins cello
  • Lawrence Power viola
  • Martin Storey cello
  • Annabelle Meare violin
  • Laura Samuel violin
  • Lesley Hatfield violin

A Coffee Concert programme for all lovers of fine chamber music connects Percy Grainger’s sparkling Irish folksong arrangements with two effervescent scores for multiple string instruments. Frank Bridge completed his String Sextet exactly one hundred years ago, the crowning achievement of his first phase of artistic development. Mendelssohn’s Octet, written in 1825, likewise marked a transitional step for its composer from youth to maturity.

  • Percy Grainger (1882-1961)
        • Molly on the Shore
        • Irish Tune from County Derry 'Londonderry Air'
  • Frank Bridge (1879-1941)
        • String Sextet in E flat major
  • Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)
        • String Octet in E flat major Op. 20

We also recommend