Wednesday 20 September 2017 7:30PM

Nash Ensemble; Simon Wallfisch baritone; Peter Tregear baritone

Nash Inventions

Additional notes

There is a pre-concert talk ahead of this concert at 6:00pm


  • Nash Ensemble Chamber Ensemble in Residence
  • Martyn Brabbins conductor
  • Richard Hosford clarinet
  • Benjamin Nabarro violin
  • Adrian Brendel cello
  • Ian Brown piano
  • Simon Wallfisch baritone
  • Peter Tregear baritone

Alexander Goehr’s latest chamber work, scored for an intriguingly mixed quintet, is presented alongside Sir Harrison Birtwistle’s single-movement Trio, with its uncharacteristically abstract title, and the late Sir Peter Maxwell Davies’s String Quintet, first performed as part of the Ensemble’s 50th anniversary celebrations. The programme is crowned by John Casken’s folk-inspired Quintet.

  • Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971)
        • Concertino for string quartet
  • John Casken (b.1949)
        • Clarinet Quintet (world première) [1]
  • Alexander Goehr (b.1932)
        • The Waking for two baritones
        • after 'The Waking' for clarinet, bassoon, horn, violin and double bass (world première) [2]
  • Sir Harrison Birtwistle (b.1934)
        • Trio for violin, cello and piano
  • Sir Peter Maxwell Davies (1934-2016)
        • String Quintet
  1. Commissioned by the Nash Ensemble with the support of the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation
  2. Commissioned by the Radcliffe Trust, the Santa Fe Chamber Music Festival and Wigmore Hall with the support of André Hoffmann, president of the Fondation Hoffmann, a Swiss grant-making foundation

We also recommend