Saturday 28 October 2017 7:30PM

Nash Ensemble

Debussy, Stravinsky, Ravel, Chabrier and Saint-Saëns

Additional notes

There is a pre-concert talk ahead of this concert at 6:00pm


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £2.00 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Nash Ensemble Chamber Ensemble in Residence
  • Ian Brown piano
  • Simon Crawford-Phillips piano
  • Patricia Routledge reciter

Debussy’s Sonata and Ravel’s Introduction and Allegro flank a vivid suite from Stravinsky’s Petrushka. Chabrier piano duos and a brilliant woodwind showpiece by Saint-Saëns provide a suitable prelude to the latter’s much-loved Carnival of the Animals, introduced by actress Patricia Routledge speaking the verses of Ogden Nash.

  • Claude Debussy (1862-1918)
        • Sonata for flute, viola and harp
  • Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971)
        • 3 Movements from Petrushka
  • Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)
        • Introduction and Allegro
  • Interval
  • Emmanuel Chabrier (1841-1894)
        • Trois valses romantiques
        • Habanera
        • España
  • Camille Saint-Saëns (1835-1921)
        • Tarantelle in A minor Op. 6
        • Le carnaval des animaux

We also recommend