Saturday 10 March 2018 7:30PM

Nash Ensemble; Eleanor Bron; Mark Stone

Fairy Tales

Additional notes

Change of Artist
Due to unforeseen circumstances, Malcolm Sinclair is unable to take part in the above concert. He will be replaced by Mark Stone in the spoken roles of Soldier and Devil for Stravinsky's The Soldier's Tale.


  • Nash Ensemble
  • Martyn Brabbins conductor
  • Ian Brown piano
  • Simon Crawford-Phillips piano
  • Eleanor Bron narrator
  • Mark Stone baritone (as Soldier and Devil)

Ravel’s Mother Goose Suite, inspired by classic French fairy tales, raises the curtain on an evening of compelling story-telling. The programme is crowned by Stravinsky’s The Soldier’s Tale, about a soldier who seeks revenge after being tricked by the Devil.

  • Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)
        • Mother Goose Suite
  • Darius Milhaud (1892-1974)
        • Caramel Mou Op. 68
  • Francis Poulenc (1899-1963)
        • The story of Babar the little Elephant for the narrator and piano
  • Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971)
        • The Soldier's Tale

We also recommend