Saturday 18 January 2020 7:30PM

Nash Ensemble

Rossini, Spohr and Schubert


  • Nash Ensemble

The first of Rossini’s elegant string sonatas precedes a pair of octets for wind and strings: the one by Spohr, with a pair of horns, full of delights, including a set of variations on Handel’s ‘Harmonious Blacksmith’ theme; the familiar one by Schubert the epitome of the divertimento in its variety and tunefulness.

BBC Radio 3 will broadcast this concert on Tuesday 21 January at 7.30pm and it will be available on BBC Sounds for 30 days

  • Gioachino Rossini (1792-1868)
        • Sonata No. 1 for strings in G
  • Louis Spohr (1784-1859)
        • Octet in E Op. 32
  • Interval
  • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
        • Octet in F D803

We also recommend