Saturday 8 February 2020 5:30PM

Nash Ensemble

Beethoven, Weber and F Mendelssohn


  • Nash Ensemble
  • Alasdair Beatson piano
  • Richard Hosford clarinet
  • Stephanie Gonley violin
  • Michael Gurevich violin
  • Lawrence Power viola
  • Adrian Brendel cello

Beethoven’s Op. 11 Trio, with its closing variations on a theme from a comic opera, and Weber’s clarinet variations on a theme from an opera of his own, precede one of the major works of Felix Mendelssohn’s gifted sister Fanny, her only string quartet.

  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
        • Clarinet Trio in B flat Op. 11
  • Carl Maria von Weber (1786-1826)
        • Variations on a theme from Silvana Op. 33
  • Fanny Mendelssohn (1805-1847)
        • String Quartet in E flat

Related Series