Saturday 7 March 2020 7:30PM

Elizabeth Watts soprano; Nash Ensemble

Rossini, Ries and Schubert


  • Elizabeth Watts soprano
  • Alasdair Beatson piano
  • Roger Vignoles piano
  • Richard Hosford clarinet
  • Marianne Thorsen violin
  • Adrian Brendel cello
  • Nash Ensemble

The radiant soprano Elizabeth Watts sings a group of songs from Rossini’s later years, and Schubert’s much-loved cantata with obbligato clarinet The Shepherd on the Rock. The concert begins with a piece by Beethoven’s pupil Ferdinand Ries for the instruments of Schubert’s ‘Trout’ Quintet, and ends with the later and more brilliantly ambitious of Schubert’s two piano trios.

  • Gioachino Rossini (1792-1868)
        • Songs from Les soirées musicales
        • Songs from Péchés de viellesse
  • Ferdinand Ries (1784-1838)
        • Piano Quintet Op. 74
  • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
        • Der Hirt auf dem Felsen D965
  • Interval
  • Franz Schubert
        • Piano Trio No. 2 in E flat D929

We also recommend