Tuesday 24 March 2020 7:30PM

Mark-Anthony Turnage 60th Birthday Concert

Stravinsky, Turnage, Knussen, Ravel and Benjamin


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £3 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Nash Ensemble
  • Jonathan Berman conductor
  • Claire Booth soprano
  • Benjamin Nabarro violin
  • Lawrence Power viola
  • Timothy Ridout viola
  • Adrian Brendel cello
  • Martin Robertson soprano saxophone

The Nash Ensemble’s annual ‘Nash Inventions’ concert celebrates the 60th birthday of Mark-Anthony Turnage, one of the most admired and widely performed British composers of his generation. There are three works by Turnage, including the jazz-inspired Slide Stride and a specially written new commission dedicated to the memory of his mentor Oliver Knussen. The programme, devised in collaboration with the composer, also includes 20th-century classics by Stravinsky and Ravel and pieces by Knussen and Turnage’s contemporary Sir George Benjamin.

  • Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971)
        • Three Pieces for string quartet
  • Mark-Anthony Turnage (b.1960)
        • Sarabande for soprano saxophone and piano
  • Oliver Knussen (1952-2018)
        • Songs without Voices Op. 26
  • Mark-Anthony Turnage
        • Slide Stride for piano and string quartet
  • Interval
  • Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)
        • Sonata for violin and cello
  • Sir George Benjamin (b.1960)
        • Viola, Viola
  • Mark-Anthony Turnage
        • Owl Songs for soprano and ensemble (world première) [1]
  1. Co-commissioned by Wigmore Hall and Nash Ensemble

Related Series

We also recommend