Monday 8 February 2021 7:30PM

Nash Ensemble

Dvorák and Schubert


This concert was live-streamed as part of the Wigmore Hall Spring Series. The video is no longer online but other concerts are available to watch in full here: Wigmore Hall Concert Video Library


  • Print
  • Email
  • Add to Calendar
  • Nash Ensemble
  • Alasdair Beatson piano
  • Stephanie Gonley violin
  • Lawrence Power viola
  • Adrian Brendel cello
  • Graham Mitchell double bass

By the time Dvořák composed his Piano Quartet in E flat he was an international celebrity, feted by the German and English musical establishments. It was composed during July and August 1889, and the inspiration seems to have flowed easily; Dvořák wrote ‘The melodies just surged upon me’. Our Chamber Ensemble in Residence also performs one of the absolute classics of the chamber music repertory, Schubert’s 'Trout' Quintet.

This concert is dedicated to the memory of Dvora Lewis

Paying tribute to Dvora Lewis, Amelia Freedman, Artistic Director of The Nash Ensemble, said, "Dvora was a consummate professional and one of the best PRs in the world of the arts. She was also a truly wonderful and loyal friend and a person of great integrity and warmth. I loved Dvora very much, she was a special person and we shall all miss her greatly."

  • Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904)
      • Piano Quartet No. 2 in E flat major Op. 87
  • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
      • The Trout D667

We also recommend