Saturday 12 February 2022 7:00PM

Nash Ensemble

Britten, Dowland, Mendelssohn, Purcell and Tippett


This concert is currently on advance sale to Friends of Wigmore Hall. For Friends booking dates, please visit our Priority Booking page. For information on becoming a Friend, please visit our Friends page.

If you are a Friend of Wigmore Hall and it is your time to book, please sign in at the top of the page.

General sale for this concert will open at 10:00AM on Tuesday 30 November.


This concert will be approximately 2 hours 30 minutes in duration, including an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Nash Ensemble
  • James Gilchrist tenor
  • Simon Crawford-Phillips piano
  • Stephanie Gonley violin
  • Adrian Brendel cello
  • Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)
      • Cello Sonata No. 2 in D Op. 58
      • Song without Words in G minor Op. 53 No. 3
      • Song without Words in E Op. 19b No. 1
      • Piano Trio No. 1 in D minor Op. 49
    • Performed at the National Gallery on February 21st 1940 by Margaret Goode (piano)Harry Blech (violin) and William Pleeth (cello)

  • John Dowland (1563-1626)
      • Awake, sweet love
      • In darkness let me dwell
      • Come, heavy sleep
  • Henry Purcell (1659-1695)
      • A Fool's Preferment Z571
        • I'll sail upon the dog-star
      • Rule a Wife and Have a Wife Z587
        • There’s not a swain on the plain
      • Not all my torments can your pity move Z400
      • On the brow of Richmond Hill Z405
  • Michael Tippett (1905-1998)
      • Boyhood’s End
  • Benjamin Britten (1913-1976)
      • The Salley Gardens
      • Little Sir William
      • The Bonny Earl o’'Moray
      • I wonder as I wander
      • Le roi s'en va-t'en chasse
      • Quand j'étais chez mon père
    • Performed at the National Gallery on Thursday October 7th 1943 by Peter Pears (tenor) and Benjamin Britten (piano)

We also recommend