Saturday 10 December 2022 5:30PM

Nash Ensemble

Mendelssohn and Schumann


This event will be approximately 45 minutes in duration, without an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Nash Ensemble Chamber Ensemble in Residence
  • Simon Crawford-Phillips piano
  • Benjamin Nabarro violin
  • Adrian Brendel cello
  • Richard Hosford clarinet

The Romantic cultivation of genius was a male affair, and Felix Mendelssohn once claimed that his talented younger sister, Fanny, had 'neither inclination nor vocation for authorship'. Works by Fanny Mendelssohn and Clara Schumann amply disprove such condescension.

  • Clara Schumann (1819-1896)
      • 3 Romances Op. 22
  • Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
      • Fantasiestücke Op. 73
  • Fanny Mendelssohn (1805-1847)
      • Piano Trio in D minor Op. 11

We also recommend