Tuesday 27 April 2021 7:30PM

Nash Ensemble; Claire Booth soprano; Geoffrey Paterson conductor

Colin Matthews, Harrison Birtwistle, Julian Anderson, Mark-Anthony Turnage and Simon Holt


This concert will be live streamed on this website in HD and will be available on demand for 30 days after the date of the concert. Watch live here

  • Nash Ensemble
  • Alasdair Beatson piano
  • Benjamin Nabarro violin
  • Jonathan Stone violin
  • Lawrence Power viola
  • Adrian Brendel cello
  • Philippa Davies flute
  • Gareth Hulse oboe
  • Richard Hosford clarinet
  • Ursula Leveaux bassoon
  • Richard Watkins horn
  • Sally Pryce harp
  • Claire Booth soprano
  • Geoffrey Paterson conductor

Including no fewer than three world premières, The Nash Ensemble presents an array of contemporary gems. Mark-Anthony Turnage’s Owl Songs were written in response to the death of Oliver Knussen, a lifelong mentor and friend, whilst Simon Holt’s Cloud Shadow evokes the beauty and unpredictability of the skies of southern Spain. The third première, Colin Matthews’s Seascapes, sets the poetry of Sidney Keyes, who died in Tunisia in 1943, only 20 years old.