Saturday 13 January 2018 7:30PM

Nash Ensemble; Lawrence Power; Ian Brown; Stéphanie d'Oustrac

Debussy, Vierne, Honnoré, Duparc and Ravel


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £2.00 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Nash Ensemble
  • Lawrence Power viola
  • Ian Brown piano
  • Stéphanie d'Oustrac mezzo-soprano

Debussy’s epoch-making Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune prefaces a group of French viola pieces by Vierne, Debussy and the little-known Honnoré.

French mezzo-soprano Stéphanie d’Oustrac sings two exquisite songs by Duparc alongside an arrangement of Debussy’s elusive Mallarmé cycle, before the concert ends with magnificent works by Ravel.

  • Claude Debussy (1862-1918)
        • Prélude à l'après midi d'un faune (arr. Benno Sachs)
  • Louis Vierne (1870-1937)
        • Deux pièces Op. 5
  • Claude Debussy
        • Beau soir (arr. for viola and piano)
  • Léon Honnoré (1859-1930)
        • Morceau de concert Op. 23
  • Henri Duparc (1848-1933)
        • L'invitation au voyage
        • Phidylé
  • Claude Debussy
        • Trois Poèmes de Stéphane Mallarmé (arr. Colin Matthews for voice and ensemble)
  • Interval
  • Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)
        • Chansons madécasses
        • String Quartet in F major

We also recommend