Saturday 16 February 2019 7:30PM

Nash Ensemble; Lucy Crowe soprano; Jamie Phillips conductor

Wagner, Beethoven and Strauss


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Priority Bookings made for the Spring booking period of our 2018/19 Season are subject to an administration fee of £4.00 per booking.

Add to wishlist

  • Nash Ensemble
  • Lucy Crowe soprano
  • Jamie Phillips conductor

This programme visits the roots of German musical Romanticism with Beethoven’s highly original String Quintet, scales its heights with Wagner’s intimate birthday gift to his wife Cosima, and ends in its glowing twilight with Richard Strauss’s 4 Last Songs, here sung by radiant soprano Lucy Crowe.

  • Richard Wagner (1813-1883)
        • Siegfried Idyll (original version)
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
        • String Quintet in C Op. 29
  • Richard Strauss (1864-1949)
        • String Sextet from Capriccio Op. 85
        • 4 Last Songs for voice and ensemble (arr. James Ledger)

We also recommend