Saturday 14 November 2020 7:00PM

Nash Ensemble; Roderick Williams baritone; Simon Crawford-Phillips &; Philip Moore piano duo; Marianne Thorsen violin; Lawrence Power viola; Adrian Brendel cello

Debussy, Poulenc and Fauré


This concert will be approximately 2 hours 45 minutes in duration, including an interval


Priority Bookings made for our 2020/21 Season Autumn concerts are subject to an administration fee of £4.00 per booking.

Add to wishlist

  • Nash Ensemble
  • Roderick Williams baritone
  • Simon Crawford-Phillips & Philip Moore piano duo
  • Marianne Thorsen violin
  • Lawrence Power viola
  • Adrian Brendel cello

A celebration of Myra Hess and her National Gallery lunchtime concerts in World War II

This concert reproduces two French programmes performed at the National Gallery in the closing stages of the War in Europe: a recital of music by Debussy and Poulenc given by three outstanding visiting French artists including Poulenc himself; and a celebration by leading British performers of the centenary of Gabriel Fauré.

These two programmes were taken from the following concerts at the National Gallery:

-Thursday 22 March 1945 by Pierre Bernac baritone, Ginette Neveu violin & Francis Poulenc piano

-Friday 11 May 1945 by Denis Matthews and Howard Ferguson piano duet, Clifford Curzon piano & members of the Griller Quartet: Sidney Griller violin, Philip Burton viola and Colin Hampton cello

  • Claude Debussy (1862-1918)
        • Beau soir
        • L'échelonnement des haies
      • Fêtes galantes Book II
        • Colloque sentimental
      • Ariettes oubliées
        • Green
        • Violin Sonata in G minor
  • Francis Poulenc (1899-1963)
        • Tel jour, telle nuit
        • Violin Sonata
  • Interval
  • Gabriel Fauré (1845-1924)
        • Dolly Suite Op. 56
        • Piano Quartet No. 1 in C minor Op. 15

We also recommend