Saturday 3 October 2020 7:00PM

Nash Ensemble; Simon Crawford-Phillips &; Philip Moore piano duo; Stephanie Gonley violin; Lawrence Power viola

Mozart, Schubert, Brahms and Dvořák


This concert will be approximately 2 hours 45 minutes in duration, including an interval


Priority Bookings made for our 2020/21 Season Autumn concerts are subject to an administration fee of £4.00 per booking.

Add to wishlist

  • Nash Ensemble
  • Simon Crawford-Phillips & Philip Moore piano duo
  • Stephanie Gonley violin
  • Lawrence Power viola

A celebration of Myra Hess and her National Gallery lunchtime concerts in World War II

This opening concert in the National Gallery series, preceded by a discussion, embraces a delectable selection of music for four hands on one piano, and an all-Mozart programme including one of his finest piano concertos.

These two programmes were taken from the following concerts at the National Gallery:

-Monday 30 September 1940 by Denis Matthews and Howard Ferguson piano duet

-Wednesday 30 October 1940 by Myra Hess piano, Orchestra of the Central Band of HM Royal Air Force, Wing Commander RPO O’Donnell, MVO conductor, Frederick Grinke violin & Watson Forbes viola

  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
        • Sonata for piano 4 hands in B flat K358
  • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
        • Fantasie in F minor D940
  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
        • Variations on a theme by Robert Schumann Op. 23
  • Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904)
        • Slavonic Dance in B flat minor Op. 72 No. 5
        • Slavonic Dance in A flat Op. 72 No. 8
        • Slavonic Dance in C Op. 72 No. 7
  • Interval
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
        • Serenade for strings in G K525 'Eine kleine Nachtmusik'
        • Duo for violin and viola in B flat K424
        • Piano Concerto No. 23 in A K488

We also recommend