Saturday 18 January 2020 5:30PM

Nash Ensemble; Simon Crawford-Phillips piano; Richard Hosford clarinet; Stephanie Gonley violin; Adrian Brendel cello

Moscheles and Schubert


  • Nash Ensemble
  • Simon Crawford-Phillips piano
  • Richard Hosford clarinet
  • Stephanie Gonley violin
  • Adrian Brendel cello

An inventive piece by the Prague-born Ignaz Moscheles, based on a Bohemian folk song, precedes two Schubert gems: the single-movement Nocturne for piano trio, and the Sonata originally written for the short-lived arpeggione, a cross between guitar and cello.

BBC Radio 3 will broadcast this concert on Tuesday 21 January at 7.30pm and it will be available on BBC Sounds for 30 days

  • Ignaz Moscheles (1794-1870)
        • Fantasy, Variations and Finale Op. 46
  • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
        • Notturno in E flat D897
        • Arpeggione Sonata in A minor D821

We also recommend