Sunday 9 July 2017 11:30AM

Navarra String Quartet

Haydn, Schubert and Beethoven

Booking information

Concessions are available. More information


This concert will be approximately 1 hour in duration, without an interval

£15Concs£13 includes programme and coffee/sherry/juice.

Ticket bookings are subject to a £2.00 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Navarra String Quartet

Beethoven applied the subtitle ‘Serioso’ to his Op. 95, a mark of its specific gravity and a reflection of the composer’s increasingly difficult personal circumstances.

The Navarra String Quartet prefaces Beethoven’s concise masterwork with two compositions of contrasting emotions, opening with Haydn’s sonorous Op. 20 No. 2 before plunging into the highly dramatic flow of Schubert’s Quartettsatz.

  • Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
        • String Quartet in C major Op. 20 No. 2
  • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
        • Quartettsatz in C minor D703
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
        • String Quartet in F minor Op. 95 'Serioso'

We also recommend