Saturday 9 February 2019 1:00PM

New Elizabethan Award Showcase

Dowland, Morley, Britten, Dean and Houghton


  • Jesse Flowers guitar
  • Andrey Lebedev guitar
  • Lotte Betts-Dean mezzo-soprano

This international award, administered by the Musicians' Company, celebrates the rare artistic achievements in solo and ensemble repertoire of composers for the lute and guitar during the two golden ages of Elizabethan music. Today’s recital showcases the outstanding performers selected to receive the inaugural award.

  • John Dowland (1563-1626)
        • A Fancy
        • Farewell (on In Nomine)
        • A Fancy
  • Thomas Morley (c.1557-1602)
        • It was a lover and his lass
  • John Dowland
        • In darkness let me dwell
        • Now, O now I needs must part
        • Come, heavy sleep
  • Benjamin Britten (1913-1976)
        • Nocturnal after John Dowland Op. 70
  • Interval
  • Benjamin Britten
      • Gloriana Op. 53
        • Second Lute Song
  • Brett Dean (b.1961)
        • Gertrude Fragments
  • Phillip Houghton
        • Ophelia... a haunted sonata
  • Benjamin Britten
        • Songs from the Chinese Op. 58
  • Encore
  • Benjamin Britten
        • Master Kilby

Related Series