Monday 15 October 2018 1:00PM

Nicholas Daniel oboe; Charles Owen piano

Bach, Haas, Anderson, Stravinsky and Bowen


  • Nicholas Daniel oboe
  • Charles Owen piano

A diverse programme taking in the richly lyrical oboe sonata (1927) of English Romantic York Bowen, and the quasi-vocal Oboe Suite (1939) by Pavel Haas, which includes a hidden text as an act of resistance to the Nazis.

  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
      • Easter Oratorio 'Kommt, eilet und laufet' BWV249
        • Sinfonia (arr. for oboe and piano)
  • Pavel Haas (1899-1944)
        • Oboe Suite
  • Julian Anderson (b.1967)
        • The Bearded Lady
  • Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971)
        • Russian Maiden's song (arr. for oboe and piano)
  • York Bowen (1884-1961)
        • Sonata for oboe and piano Op. 85
  • Encore
  • Johann Sebastian Bach
        • Movement from Sonata in E flat BWV1031

We also recommend