Thursday 4 June 2020 1:00PM

Nicholas Daniel oboe; Julius Drake piano

Live on BBC Radio 3 and in HD video on this website


This concert forms part of the Wigmore Hall BBC Radio 3 Special Broadcast series. It will be available to listen to live on BBC Radio 3 and also to watch live on Wigmore Hall's website.
The concert will be approximately one hour in duration.

  • Nicholas Daniel oboe
  • Julius Drake piano

Watch our live streams here

BBC Sounds

One of the finest oboists of his generation, Nicholas Daniel is joined by his regular recital partner Julius Drake for a programme spanning from 19th-century romantic works through to jazz standards. The recital features three works by the English composer and actress Madeleine Dring.

  • Wigmore Hall's live stream of this concert is supported by Hamish Parker
  • Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
        • Duos (arr. Howard Ferguson)
  • Franz Liszt (1811-1886)
        • Elégie for cor anglais and piano S129b
  • Gerald Finzi (1901-1956)
        • Interlude for oboe and string quartet Op. 21 (arr. Howard Ferguson)
  • Madeleine Dring (1923-1977)
        • Waltz
        • Tango
        • Italian Dance
  • Huw Watkins (b.1976)
        • Arietta
  • Michael Berkeley (b.1948)
        • A Dark Waltz
  • Antônio Carlos Jobim (1927-1994)
        • The Girl from Ipanema (arr. John Linton Gardner)
  • John Lennon/Paul McCartney
        • Yesterday (arr. John Linton Gardner)
  • Jerome Kern (1885-1945)
      • Very Warm for May
        • All the Things You Are (arr. John Linton Gardner)

We also recommend