Monday 16 November 2020 1:00PM

Nicky Spence tenor; Jess Dandy mezzo-soprano; Julius Drake piano



This concert was live-streamed as part of the Wigmore Hall Autumn Series. The video is no longer online but other concerts are available to watch in full here: Wigmore Hall Concert Video Library


  • Nicky Spence tenor
  • Jess Dandy mezzo-soprano
  • Julius Drake piano
  • Ellie Neate soprano
  • Leila Alexander soprano
  • Catherine Backhouse mezzo-soprano

With an increasingly high profile in opera as well as concert and recital work, the Scottish Nicky Spence is a rising star on the musical scene. Joined by pianist Julius Drake, and mezzo-soprano Jessica Dandy, they perform Janácek’s song cycle closely associated with his obsessional love for Kamila Stösslová.

  • Leoš Janáček (1854-1928)
      • The Diary of One who Disappeared
      • Moravian Folk Poetry in Songs
        • No. 16 Stálost
        • No. 19 Pérecko
        • No. 1 Láska
        • No. 17 Komu kytka
        • No. 22 Památky
        • No. 18 Konicky milého
  • Encore
      • Moravian Folk Poetry in Songs
        • No. 50 Muzikanti

We also recommend