Sunday 2 April 2017 7:30PM

Nikolaj Znaider violin; Piotr Anderszewski piano

Janáček, Schumann, Webern and Beethoven

Additional notes

Change of Programme
The programme for this concert has changed from previously advertised and will now be as listed below.


  • Nikolaj Znaider violin
  • Piotr Anderszewski piano

Two outstanding artists perform a programme of compelling contrasts and rich invention, moving from the turbulent energy of Janáček’s Violin Sonata of 1914 to Beethoven’s radiant Op. 24 'Spring'. Along the way the duo explore the intense passions of Schumann’s Second Violin Sonata and Webern’s vigorous Four Pieces.

Nikolaj Znaider was recently hailed by The Arts Desk as ‘a fine thinker among musicians’, while his recital partner Piotr Anderszewski scored a rave review in the Guardian for his Wigmore Hall 25th anniversary recital in February 2016.

  • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
  • Leoš Janáček (1854-1928)
        • Violin Sonata
  • Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
        • Sonata for violin and piano No. 2 in D minor Op. 121
  • Interval
  • Anton Webern (1883-1945)
        • Four Pieces Op.7
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
        • Violin Sonata No. 5 in F major Op. 24 'Spring'

We also recommend