Saturday 1 April 2017 1:00PM

Nobuyuki Tsujii piano

Avex Recital Series 2017


  • Nobuyuki Tsujii piano

The first of three lunchtime concerts in the Avex Recital Series 2017 features Japanese pianist, Nobuyuki Tsujii. A joint Gold Medal winner at the 2009 Van Cliburn International Piano Competition and a musician of ‘unparalleled excitement’ (Observer), Tsujii performs Bach’s Italian Concerto and sonatas by Mozart and Beethoven.

‘Nobuyuki Tsujii proved he has a sensitive ear, a light touch and the sort of technique that needs no allowances. …Tsujii was greeted with an enormous, sustained ovation – justifiably so’ Andrew Clark, Fina

‘His opening chords were spectral wisps but they swelled to a ripe fullness, after which he was off in an interpretation of notable restraint and refinement…he dominated the Adagio with easy grace, giving its lyrical lines a sweet sincerity, and avoiding all temptation to milk the music for emotional effect. His way with the Scherzo was beautifully judged, with brilliant passage-work and exuberant power. His encore – Liszt’s ‘La campanella’ – was exquisite’ Michael Church, Independent

  • This recital is presented by Avex Classics International
  • Avex Recital Series is kindly sponsored by Tarisio – Fine Instruments and Bows
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
        • Italian Concerto in F major BWV971
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
        • Piano Sonata in B flat major K570
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
        • Piano Sonata No. 14 in C sharp minor Op. 27 No. 2 'Moonlight'
        • Piano Sonata No. 23 in F minor Op. 57 'Appassionata'

We also recommend