Saturday 7 April 2018 7:00PM

O/MODERNT Soloists

Lament and Consolation: Fourths Down and Up


Please note the starting time is 7:00pm


  • O/MODERNT Soloists
  • Hugo Ticciati director, violin
  • Luciana Mancini mezzo-soprano
  • Natacha Kudritskraya piano
  • Christoph Sommer theorbo

For the past four hundred years the descending bass line constructed from a perfect fourth has provided the harmonic structure for the ‘lament’. Exploring this particular musical interval, we question whether consolation can be found in the rising fourths of Berg’s Op. 1 and Strauss’s Metamorphosen.

  • Henry Purcell (c.1659-1695)
      • Dido and Aeneas Z626
        • Act 3 When I am laid in earth
  • Jean-Philippe Rameau (1683-1764)
      • Nouvelles suites de pieces de clavecin
        • XIV. L'Enharmonique
  • Henry Purcell
        • The Staircase Overture Z614
  • Claudio Monteverdi (1567-1643)
        • Lamento d'Arianna from Arianna
  • Interval
  • Alban Berg (1885-1935)
        • Piano Sonata in B minor Op. 1
  • Richard Strauss (1864-1949)
        • Metamorphosen for string septet

We also recommend