Monday 11 July 2022 1:00PM

Olena Tokar soprano; Igor Gryshyn piano

A Mahler, Rachmaninov and Viardot


This concert will be live streamed on this website in HD. The video will be available on demand for 90 days after the date of the broadcast. Watch live here


This concert will be approximately 1 hour in duration, without an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Olena Tokar soprano
  • Igor Gryshyn piano

The Ukrainian lyric soprano has won numerous prizes and is currently a member of the Leipzig Opera. With her equally eminent pianist compatriot she has released the CD Charmes, which includes today’s songs by Alma Mahler and Pauline Viardot. BBC Music Magazine greeted it enthusiastically, describing it as an ‘exquisite recital’ and singling out for praise ‘the luxuriant bloom of Tokar’s voice … perfectly matched by Gryshyn’s old-fashioned, elastic piano accompaniments.’

  • Pauline Viardot (1821-1910)
      • Der Gärtner
      • Tell me why, beautiful maiden
      • Quietly the evening falls
      • The hills of Georgia
      • Two roses
      • Nixe Binsefuss
      • Hai luli!
  • Alma Mahler (1879-1964)
      • Die stille Stadt
      • In meines Vaters Garten
      • Laue Sommernacht
      • Bei dir ist es traut
      • Ich wandle unter Blumen
  • Sergey Rachmaninov (1873-1943)
      • A dream Op. 38 No. 5
      • Lilacs Op. 21 No. 5
      • How fair this spot Op. 21 No. 7
      • Night is mournful Op. 26 No. 12
      • They answered Op. 21 No. 4
      • In the silence of the secret night Op. 4 No. 3
      • What happiness Op. 34 No. 12
      • Spring waters Op. 14 No. 11

We also recommend