Monday 27 March 2017 7:30PM

Patricia Kopatchinskaja violin; Polina Leschenko piano

Webern, Schumann, Bartók and more


  • Patricia Kopatchinskaja violin Artist in Residence
  • Polina Leschenko piano

In company with her regular duo partner, Patricia Kopatchinskaja begins her Wigmore Hall residency by travelling through the vast range of styles, technical challenges and musical rewards of two pairs of works.

The vibrant colours and textures of Webern’s Op. 7 miniatures, which at times sound hauntingly like the human voice, and of Ravel’s Tzigane respectively complement the songful nature of Schumann’s D minor Violin Sonata and Bartók’s contemplative Violin Sonata No. 2.

  • Supported by the Season Patrons who have made a major contribution to the 2016/17 Wigmore Series
  • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
  • Anton Webern (1883-1945)
        • Four Pieces Op. 7
  • Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
        • Violin Sonata No. 2 in D minor Op. 121
  • Interval
  • Béla Bartók (1881-1945)
        • Violin Sonata No. 2 BB85
  • Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)
        • Tzigane
  • Encore
  • Giya Kancheli (b.1935)
        • Rag-Gidon Time
  • Grigoraș Dinicu (1889-1949)
        • Hora Staccato

We also recommend