Monday 10 February 2020 7:30PM

Paul Laraia viola; Robert Markham piano

Lionel Tertis Viola Competition Winner’s Recital


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £3 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Paul Laraia viola
  • Robert Markham piano

1st Prize winner of the 13th Lionel Tertis International Viola Competition and the 14th Sphinx Competition, violist Paul Laraia is enjoying the early stages of a multifaceted career as a soloist and chamber musician. Acclaimed for offering ‘long lines with lyricsm and poise’, Paul is a principal member of the internationally acclaimed Sejong Soloists and the violist of the GRAMMY Award-winning Catalyst Quartet.

  • Alessandro Rolla
        • Concertant Duo for violin and viola Op. 5 No. 1
  • Atar Arad (b.1945)
      • 12 Caprices for viola
        • Caprice 8 'Paul'
  • Paul Hindemith (1895-1963)
        • Sonata for viola and piano Op. 11 No. 4
  • Interval
  • Frank Bridge (1879-1941)
        • Allegro appassionato
  • Roxanna Panufnik (b.1968)
        • Canto
  • Atar Arad
      • 12 Caprices for viola
        • Caprice 1 'Rebecca'
  • Rebecca Clarke (1886-1979)
        • Viola Sonata

We also recommend