Monday 10 December 2018 7:30PM

Pavel Haas Quartet

Smetana and Janáček


  • Pavel Haas Quartet

Janácek’s two highly personal quartets have earned their places as 20th-century classics of the medium, the first inspired by Tolstoy’s passionate novella The 'Kreutzer Sonata', about an extramarital affair, the second reflecting his own love for the married Kamila Stösslová.

  • Bedřich Smetana (1824-1884)
        • String Quartet No. 2 in D minor
  • Leoš Janáček (1854-1928)
        • String Quartet No. 1 'Kreutzer Sonata'
  • Interval
  • Leoš Janáček
        • String Quartet No. 2 'Intimate Letters'

We also recommend