Wednesday 19 February 2020 7:30PM

Pavel Haas Quartet; Boris Giltburg piano

Prokofiev, Shostakovich and Dvořák


  • Pavel Haas Quartet
  • Boris Giltburg piano

The Russian-born Israeli pianist joins the Pavel Haas Quartet for Shostakovich’s 1940 masterpiece, preceded here by Prokofiev’s 1932 sonata for an unusual combination and a selection of movements from the same composer’s popular ballet arranged by the ensemble’s violist, Jirí Kabát.

Founded in 2002, the Pavel Haas Quartet is a Czech string quartet who’s first album, with the second quartets of Haas and Janácek, won the 2007 Gramophone Award for Chamber music. The quartet is named after the Czech composer Pavel Haas (1899–1944) selected because of his importance to Czech music and in particular because of his three string quartets, all of which they have now recorded.

  • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
  • Sergey Prokofiev (1891-1953)
        • Sonata in C for 2 violins Op. 56
        • Suite from Romeo and Juliet Op. 64 (arr. Jirí Kabát for string quartet)
  • Interval
  • Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)
        • Piano Quintet in G minor Op. 57
  • Encore
  • Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904)
      • Piano Quintet No. 2 in A Op. 81
        • III. Scherzo-Furiant: Molto vivace

Related Series