Tuesday 19 October 2021 7:30PM

Pavel Haas Quartet; Pavel Nikl viola; Boris Giltburg piano

Live stream starts at 8:00PM


This concert was live-streamed as part of the Autumn 2021 Series. The video is no longer online but other concerts are available to watch in full here: Wigmore Hall Concert Video Library

Download the PDF programme here. Reproduction and distribution is strictly prohibited.


  • Pavel Haas Quartet
  • Veronika Jarůšková violin
  • Marek Zwiebel violin
  • Luosha Fang viola
  • Peter Jarůšek cello
  • Pavel Nikl viola
  • Boris Giltburg piano

Three major works by Brahms performed by a total of six musicians. Each of the works features the ensemble, formed in 2002, and taking its name from that of a leading Czech composer who died in Auschwitz; over the years their recordings of a wide variety of pieces have garnered them several major awards. For the F minor piano quintet they are joined by the Israeli pianist, and for the two string quintets by one of their former members.

  • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
  • Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
      • String Quintet in G Op. 111
      • Piano Quintet in F minor Op. 34
  • Encore
  • Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904)
      • Piano Quintet No. 2 in A Op. 81
        • Scherzo-Furiant: Molto vivace — Poco tranquillo

We also recommend