Saturday 2 February 2019 7:30PM

Piers Lane piano

Bach, Chopin, Tchaikovsky and Stravinsky

Additional notes

Change of Programme
The programme for this concert has been amended from previously advertised and will now be as listed below:


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £3 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Piers Lane piano

A musician with broad interests and invariably a stimulating interpreter, the Australian pianist takes listeners on a journey from Bach to Stravinsky by way of a considerable rarity in the shape of Tchaikovsky’s 6 pieces varying a single theme.

BBC Radio 3 will broadcast this concert on Monday 4 February at 7.30pm and it will be available via BBC iPlayer Radio and the BBC Sounds app for 30 days.

  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
        • Prelude and Fugue in F sharp minor BWV883 from The Well-tempered Clavier Book II
  • Fryderyk Chopin (1810-1849)
        • Impromptu No. 2 in F sharp Op. 36
        • Nocturne in D flat Op. 27 No. 2
        • Mazurka in F minor Op. 68 No. 4
        • Piano Sonata No. 2 in B flat minor Op. 35 'Funeral March'
  • Interval
  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)
        • 6 Pieces on a Single Theme Op. 21
  • Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971)
        • 3 Movements from Petrushka

We also recommend