Tuesday 10 December 2019 7:30PM

Quatuor Danel

Shostakovich, Weinberg and Tchaikovsky


  • Quatuor Danel

In this second instalment of their series, the Danel players surround Weinberg’s tense Third Quartet of 1944 with Shostakovich’s widely-ranging Second Quartet of the same year, and his heartfelt and dramatic third work in the medium (1946).

  • Supported by CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust
  • Financed by the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage of the Republic of Poland as part of the multi-annual programme NIEPODŁEGLA 2017–2022. Organised in collaboration with the Adam Mickiewicz Institute as part of the Polska Music and POLSKA 100, the international cultural programme celebrating the centenary of Poland regaining independence.
  • Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)
        • String Quartet No. 2 in A Op. 68
  • Mieczysław Weinberg (1919-1996)
        • String Quartet No. 3 Op. 14
  • Interval
  • Dmitry Shostakovich
        • String Quartet No. 3 in F Op. 73
  • Encore
  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)
      • String Quartet No. 1 in D Op. 11
        • II. Andante cantabile

We also recommend