Thursday 9 July 2020 7:30PM

Quatuor Danel

Shostakovich and Weinberg

Booking information

£5 tickets for Under 35s available. Login to book. View all U35 concerts and more information
Supported by Classic FM.


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Ticket bookings are subject to a £3 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Quatuor Danel

Two quartets by each composer, in each instance their seventh and eighth examples. Both adopting elements of the klezmer tradition, Weinberg’s date from 1957 and 1958 respectively, while the Shostakovich pair were written in 1960 – the highly personal Eighth within a period of three days.

Wigmore Hall Podcasts
Ahead of Quatuor Danel’s two-season survey of Weinberg’s string quartets, Marc Danel and Daniel Elphick, musicologist and researcher, talk about the life of Weinberg and the Weinberg/Shostakovich Cycle at Wigmore Hall.

  • The Weinberg/Shostakovich Cycle is made possible with additional support from the Wigmore Hall Endowment Fund
  • Financed by the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage of the Republic of Poland as part of the multi-annual programme NIEPODŁEGLA 2017–2022. Organised in collaboration with the Adam Mickiewicz Institute as part of the Polska Music and POLSKA 100, the international cultural programme celebrating the centenary of Poland regaining independence.
  • Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)
        • String Quartet No. 7 in F sharp minor Op. 108
  • Mieczysław Weinberg (1919-1996)
        • String Quartet No. 7 Op. 59
  • Interval
  • Mieczysław Weinberg
        • String Quartet No. 8 Op. 66
  • Dmitry Shostakovich
        • String Quartet No. 8 in C minor Op. 110

We also recommend