Wednesday 23 September 2020 7:30PM

Quatuor Danel

Weinberg and Shostakovich


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Priority Bookings made for our 2020/21 Season Autumn concerts are subject to an administration fee of £4.00 per booking.

Add to wishlist

  • Quatuor Danel

Quatuor Danel continues its Weinberg/Shostakovich Cycle, a series begun in the 2019/20 Season which covers works by the two composers. The two friends are represented here by Weinberg's Ninth (1963) and Tenth (1965) quartets – both containing Jewish and Polish motifs – and Shostakovich’s Ninth (1964), with its enigmatic references to Musorgsky’s Boris Godunov and Rossini’s William Tell.

  • The Weinberg/Shostakovich Cycle is made possible with additional support from the Wigmore Hall Endowment Fund
  • Financed by the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage of the Republic of Poland as part of the multi-annual programme NIEPODŁEGLA 2017–2022
  • Mieczysław Weinberg (1919-1996)
        • String Quartet No. 9 Op. 80
        • String Quartet No. 10 Op. 85
  • Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)
        • String Quartet No. 9 in E flat Op. 117

We also recommend