Tuesday 17 November 2020 7:30PM

Quatuor Danel; Alexander Melnikov piano

Shostakovich and Weinberg


This concert will be approximately 2 hours in duration, including an interval


Priority Bookings made for our 2020/21 Season Autumn concerts are subject to an administration fee of £4.00 per booking.

Add to wishlist

  • Quatuor Danel
  • Alexander Melnikov piano

Like Shostakovich’s earlier (1940) example, Weinberg’s deeply felt Piano Quintet (1944) is in five movements, and here set within the context of his Eleventh Quartet (1965), which reflects memories of his youth in Warsaw, and the contemporaneous Tenth by Shostakovich, which he dedicated to Weinberg.

  • The Weinberg/Shostakovich Cycle is made possible with additional support from the Wigmore Hall Endowment Fund
  • Financed by the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage of the Republic of Poland as part of the multi-annual programme NIEPODŁEGLA 2017–2022
  • Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)
        • String Quartet No. 10 in A flat Op. 118
  • Mieczysław Weinberg (1919-1996)
        • String Quartet No. 11 Op. 89
        • Piano Quintet Op. 18

We also recommend