Sunday 24 November 2019 11:30AM

Rachel Podger violin



  • Print
  • Email
  • Add to Calendar
  • Rachel Podger violin

These two works date from the period of Bach’s life spent in Cöthen, in the employ of the court of Prince Leopold. The sonata ranges from the stately solemnity of the opening Adagio through a vigorous Fugue and a graceful Siciliana to a moto-perpetuo-like finale. In the freer form of the Partita, each of the main movements – Allemanda, Correnta, Sarabande, and Tempo di Borea (or Bourrée) – is followed by a Double (or variation).

Live Stream

Wigmore Hall Podcasts
Baroque violinist and orchestral director, Rachel Podger introduces her ensemble ‘Brecon Baroque’ and discusses her passion for Baroque music with BBC Radio 3 presenter, Sara Mohr-Pietsch.

  • Coffee for the Sunday Morning Concert Series is generously provided by Café de Colombia
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
        • Sonata No. 1 in G minor for solo violin BWV1001
        • Partita No. 1 in B minor for solo violin BWV1002

We also recommend