Sunday 8 December 2013 11:30AM

Raphael Wallfisch cello; John York piano

Lekeu and Beethoven


  • Raphael Wallfisch cello
  • John York piano

Guillaume Lekeu, who died tragically young at the age of 24, is best known today for the violin sonata he created in 1892 for his fellow Belgian, Eugène Ysaÿe. Raphael Wallfisch and John York present a transcription for cello and piano of the composer’s eloquent work. They turn to Beethoven’s last cello sonata to close the recital.

  • Guillaume Lekeu (1870-1894)
        • Sonata in G major (trans. Guillaume Lekeu Violin Sonata)
  • Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
        • Cello Sonata No. 5 in D major Op. 102 No. 2

We also recommend