Thursday 18 February 2021 7:30PM

Riot Ensemble

Aaron Holloway-Nahum, Anna Korsun, Ashkan Behzadi and more


Watch this concert in HD video until 18 May 2021: Watch


  • Riot Ensemble * *Wigmore Hall Debut
  • Adam Swayne piano
  • Marie Schreer violin
  • Stephen Upshaw viola
  • Louise McMonagle cello
  • Sarah Dacey soprano

Weaving together the natural elements of earth, water and air, this programme explores the idea of voices in the natural world - from the spiralling clouds of Aaron Holloway-Nahum to the ghosts of the forests in Michaela Catranis' sensuous quartet to the rippling delicacy of Lee Westwood's work for solo piano. The sound of singing is also ever present, featuring the world première of Naomi Pinnock's Vestige alongside the ecstatic Farsi poetry of Ashkan Behzadi and the string trio gently singing/playing in the darkness of Anna Korsun's Sottillissime.

  • Aaron Holloway-Nahum (b.1983)
      • The Geometry of Clouds

  • Naomi Pinnock (b.1979)
      • Vestige
        • (live performance première) [1]
  • Lee Westwood (b.1982)
      • A Line Drawn In Water
  • Michaela Catranis (b.1985)
      • The Ghosts in These Trees

  • Ashkan Behzadi (b.1983)
      • Az hoosh mi

  • Anna Korsun (b.1986)
      • sottilissime

  1. Commissioned by Riot Ensemble with funds from the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation