Tuesday 1 December 2020 7:30PM

Roderick Williams baritone; Christopher Glynn piano

Music for a while


This concert was live-streamed as part of the Wigmore Hall Autumn Series. The video is no longer online but other concerts are available to watch in full here: Wigmore Hall Concert Video Library


  • Roderick Williams baritone
  • Christopher Glynn piano

The eminent baritone and sought-after pianist present a programme of music by English composers, ranging from the 17th-century music of Henry Purcell all the way to Hugh Wood’s 2007 cycle The Isle of Greece.

  • Henry Purcell (c.1659-1695)
      • If music be the food of love Z379a
      • Tyrannic Love or The Royal Martyr Z613
        • Ah! how sweet it is to love
      • Incidental music for Oedipus, King of Thebes Z583
        • Music for a while
  • Michael Tippett (1905-1998)
      • Songs for Ariel
  • Roger Quilter (1877-1953)
      • Seven Elizabethan Lyrics Op. 12
  • Hugh Wood (b.1932)
      • The Isles of Greece Op. 52
  • Richard Rodney Bennett (1936-2012)
      • Songs before Sleep
  • Encore
  • Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
      • An die Musik D547
        • (translated by Jeremy Sams)