Saturday 9 July 2022 11:30AM

Roman Rabinovich piano; Heath Quartet


Booking information

This event is part of the CAVATINA 25 Scheme. A limited number of free tickets are available to 25 and unders in rows T to V. Log in to book.


This concert will be approximately 1 hour in duration, without an interval


Login to your Wigmore Hall account to access discounted ticket prices. Ticket bookings are subject to a £4 booking fee. This fee covers the whole booking and is not per ticket.

  • Roman Rabinovich piano
  • Heath Quartet
  • Sara Wolstenholme violin
  • Marije Johnston violin
  • Gary Pomeroy viola
  • Christopher Murray cello

Rabinovich opens the series with the first (1771) of Haydn’s keyboard works from his earliest set designated ‘sonatas’, a work Richard Wigmore has dubbed ‘Haydn’s Appassionata’. From the influentially innovative so-called ‘Sun’ Quartets (1772) we hear the F minor work in which, in Roger Parker’s words, the composer seems ‘to test the limits of what the minor mode could express in this newly serious instrumental combination’.

  • Supported by the Sir Jack Lyons Charitable Trust
  • This concert is part of the CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust ticket scheme, offering free tickets to those aged 8-25
  • Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
      • Piano Sonata in C minor HXVI/20
      • String Quartet in F minor Op. 20 No. 5
      • Piano Trio in F sharp minor HXV/26

We also recommend